AIIMS (All India Institute Of Medical Sciences)

All India Institute of Medical Sciences, popularly known as AIIMS is one of the most sought after medical colleges in India. Medical aspirants of not just India but across the world aspire to get through one of the AIIMS campuses, especially the oldest and top-ranked ones. At present, there are 23 AIIMS campuses in India out of which 19 are functional and the rest are under construction.

AIIMS in India was established under the Act of Parliament, 1956. The functions and objectives of the institute were defined in this act, thus giving it an autonomous status. Later in 2003, the Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY) planted the seeds for expansion of the most esteemed medical institution in India and led to the establishment of other AIIMS campuses.

NameEstablishment Year
AIIMS Delhi1956
AIIMS Jodhpur2012
AIIMS Bhubaneswar2012
AIIMS Bhopal2012
AIIMS Patna2012
AIIMS Raipur2012
AIIMS Rishikesh2012
AIIMS Raebarely2013
AIIMS Nagpur2018
AIIMS Mangalgiri2018
AIIMS Gorakhpur2019
AIIMS Telangana2019
AIIMS Bathinda2019
AIIMS Kalyani2019
AIIMS Deoghar2019
AIIMS Rajkot2020
AIIMS Guwahati2020
AIIMS Vijaypur2020
AIIMS Bilaspur2020

Candidates may not have an idea about the total number of existing AIIMS in India. Barring AIIMS, Delhi, all AIIMS are new ones. All of these new AIIMS campuses came into existence after 2012. Some of them are still at the under-development stage and yet to be fully operational. The table below contains the list of the AIIMS, year of establishment, and their NIRF ranking.

× How can I help you? Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday